Tigers Earn 11 All-NCAC Football Honors Including Three on First Team

Tigers Earn 11 All-NCAC Football Honors Including Three on First Team

Greencastle, Ind. - Following an 8-2 season that included a 7-2 North Coast Athletic Conference mark and a tie for second in the final conference standings, DePauw collected 11 all-NCAC honors in voting by the league's coaches.

Three players earned first team honors including right tackle Jeremy Trudell (Sr., Highland Park, Ill./Highland Park), defensive tackle Ashaun Miller (Jr., Terre Haute, Ind./Terre Haute North) and return specialist Andy Hunt (Jr., Indianapolis, Ind./Heritage Christian).

Trudell, a second team honoree in 2016, led an offensive line that helped the Tigers average 33.6 points and 412.8 yards per game. Miller totaled 17 tackles including 1.5 for loss and 1.0 sacks. He also had three quarterback hurries, a pass breakup and a fumble recovery.

Hunt averaged 8.0 yards per punt return including a 58-yard return for a touchdown against Oberlin. He also returned one kickoff 24 yards. Hunt also was one of six selections to the second team as a receiver after earning honorable mention in 2015 and second team last year. The 2015 NCAC Newcomer of the Year, led DePauw with 45 catches for 878 yards and 12 touchdowns. He topped the 100-yard mark five times.

Thomas Cunningham (Sr., Elkhart, Ind./Penn) joined Hunt on the second team offense after starting five games at left guard and the final five at right guard.

Garnering spots on the second team defense were outside linebacker Chandler Nicholson (Jr., Bedford, Ind./Bedford North Lawrence), inside linebacker Matt Crupi, defensive end Nate Orrison (Jr., Wheaton, Ill./Glenbard West) and defensive back Rocky Leffler (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind./Scecina Memorial).

Nicholson was second on the team with 51 tackles including 6.0 for loss and 0.5 sacks and he led the Tigers with four interceptions. Three of those interceptions came in the last two games including a 52-yard return for a score against Wabash. Nicholson added six pass breakups, four hurries and two fumble recoveries.

Crupi led the team with 85 tackles including a team-high 8.5 for loss of which 1.5 were sacks. He also added seven breakups, a hurry, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery.

Orrison, an honorable mention choice in 2016, was in on 20 tackles which included 8.0 for loss and a team0-high 7.5 sacks. He also led the squad with eight hurries and added two breakups, a forced fumble and  a fumble recovery.

Leffler, who missed the last four games due to injury, recorded 31 tackles including one for loss, while adding four breakups and two fumble recoveries.

Inside linebacker Zach Williams (Jr., Avon, Ind./Avon) and defensive end Matt Mitsch (Jr., Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral) were honorable mention. Williams totaled 45 tackles with 7.0 for loss and 2.0 sacks. He added three hurries two forced fumbles and a breakup. Mitsch had 19 tackles with 6.0 for loss and 3.0 sacks. Mitsch also broke up one pass and recorded a hurry.

The complete 2017 all-NCAC football team is available here.