DePauw Fights, but Finishes Second to Wittenberg in NCAC Tournament

DePauw Fights, but Finishes Second to Wittenberg in NCAC Tournament

Springfield, Ohio - DePauw fought a tough fight in the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Championship Match, but it was fourth-ranked Wittenberg that earned the title with a 3-1 (25-16, 23-25, 25-19, 25-19) win.

DePauw finished the regular season at 26-10 with eight losses coming to teams ranked in the top 25, while Wittenberg improves to 27-3. The Tigers are in the running for an at-large spot in the NCAA Division III tournament and that announcement will come on Monday.

Wittenberg never trailed in the opening set as DePauw hit just .019, but DePauw fought off the hosts in the second set as it was tied 13 times before Emily Beckes served an ace to make it 23-21 and the Tigers evened the match by winning the set, 25-23.

DePauw took that momentum into the third set and held an 11-6 lead before Wittenberg won five straight points. The set was still tied at 13-13 before Wittenberg won three straight. DePauw closed to within one at 17-16, but again Wittenberg won three consecutive points and pulled away.

Wittenberg jumped out to a 5-1 advantage in the fourth set, but the Tigers rallied to tie it with the last coming at 19-19. The hosts won the final six points of the set and claimed the match and title.

Mary Kate Etling, Elisabeth Wilson and Sarah Burtensahw each had 10 kills for DePauw, while Faith Rolwes assisted on 34 of the Tigers' 41 kills. Beckes had two of DePauw's four aces, while five Tigers posted double-digit digs led by Keely McGrath and Rachael Lenderman with 20 apiece. Wilson led the way with two block solos and one block assist.

Kara Seidenstricker had 15 kills for Wittenberg including three of the final four points in the match. Courtney Huck led with 25 assists and Meghan Vodopich added 22 as Wittneberg totaled 59 kills. Kiah Murray led with 34 digs, while Kendall Farmer and Bryanna Jay each had five block assists.

Iris Anderson, OWU
Jen Yardas, Hiram 
Elisabeth Wilson, DPU
Mary Kate Etling, DPU
Kiah Murray, Witt
Meghan Vodopich, Witt
MVP: Kara Seidenstricker, Witt